Saher Alam

Summer Writers Institute Faculty: Advanced Fiction
Princeton University
Boston University
    View All People

    contact info:

    image of book cover

    Saher Alam is the author of the novel The Groom to Have Been, which won the 2008 Janet Heidinger Kafka Prize.  She has held fellowships from Emory University, the Howard Foundation (at Brown University), and the Regional Arts Commission of St. Louis. Her stories have appeared in the anthology Best of the Fiction Workshops 1999, as well as the journals Literary Imagination and Five Chapters. She has over ten years of experience teaching fiction, most recently at Saint Louis University.