Summer Writers Institute

The Summer Writers Institute brings together many of St. Louis' finest writers to share their expertise with students who are serious about developing their writing.

The Washington University Summer Writers Institute is an intensive, two-week program featuring workshops in genres such as fiction, culture essay writing, micro fiction, modern humor, personal narrative, playwriting, and poetry. Adult writers of all levels of experience work together with published authors and exceptional teachers in a supportive, non-competitive format that allows for personalized attention and constructive feedback.

Institutes are held evenings and weekends to accommodate the busy work schedules of participants in the St. Louis area. Out-of-town participants may choose to reside on campus and make use of our many libraries and quiet, outdoor areas for writing and reflection.

Each institute is worth 3 units of credit; an application is not required.

Enroll Today

Registration for the Summer Writers Institute in now open.

View SWI Courses

Participants in the Summer Writers Institute will follow the schedule outlined below. Class and event times are subject to change.


Friday, July 12
5:30-6:45 p.m. Welcome Reception & Keynote Speaker
7:00-8:30 p.m. Class session #1

Saturday, July 13
1:00-4:00 p.m. Class session #2

Sunday, July 14
12:00-1:45 p.m. Lunch and Panel Discussion
2:00-500 p.m. Class session #3

Monday, July 15
5:30-8:30 p.m. Class session #4

Wednesday, July 17
5:30-8:30 p.m. Class session #5

Friday, July 19
5:30-8:30 p.m. Class session #6

Saturday, July 20
1:00-4:00 p.m. Class session #7

Sunday, July 21
1:00-4:00 p.m. Class session #8

4:15-6:00 p.m. Reception and Faculty Panel

Monday, July 22
5:30-8:30 p.m. Class session #9

Wednesday, July 24
5:30-8:30 p.m. Class session #10

Friday, July 26
5:00-9:30 p.m. Student Open Mic & Reception

Frequently Asked Questions

FAQs